The Rest of the Story

paul-harveyThe first famous person I ever interviewed was ABC Radio News commentator Paul Harvey, and it was a disaster of an interview.

I was an 18-year-old aspiring journalist in his first year at Baylor University, and Harvey was in town to give a speech. A photographer and I went to his hotel room, having been promised 15 minutes with him.

I’ve never known someone to talk so fast and nonstop. I hardly got a question in, and when I looked at my notebook back in the newsroom, I had written about three dozen starts of sentences and not a single conclusion to a sentence. I didn’t have a single complete direct quote to use!

Still, it was a thrill as a teenager to interview Paul Harvey, whose daily commentaries and “The Rest of the Story” segments were heard by an estimated 22 million people a week.

He had an idiosyncratic delivery with dramatic pauses and a folksy style. He’d begin with “Hello Americans, I’m Paul Harvey. You know what the news is. In a minute, you’re going to hear … the rest of the story.” After telling us about someone who had done something ridiculous, Harvey would say “He would want us to mention his name” and then have a deliberate moment of silence before starting the next item.

Paul Harvey died today at the age of 90.

Explore posts in the same categories: People

2 Comments on “The Rest of the Story”

  1. Mike Says:

    Just passing by. Btw, your website has great content!


  2. … page 2 … salute, maestro Harvey … requiescat in pace …


Leave a Reply

