Archive for October 2010

A Professor at the Pinnacle

October 28, 2010

David Copeland with a student

Receiving a Lifetime Achievement Award sounds like something that comes in the twilight of a career.

So we’ve been having some fun this week with Professor David Copeland, who deservedly received the award from the American Journalism Historians Association at its national conference in Tucson, Ariz.

You see, Copeland is at the pinnacle of a career, far from the twilight. We came to Elon the same year — David as the A.J. Fletcher Distinguished Professor of Communications and I as dean of the school. Today, David serves as director of the school’s M.A. in Interactive Media program.

In my letter of support, I wrote that he is an “extraordinarily good” teacher and a “prolific” author and a “superb” mentor to colleagues. The use of strong adjectives just came naturally when writing about David Copeland. Many students call him the best teacher they’ve ever had, and his scholarship includes editing an eight-volume series on American war reporting as well as authoring a 2010 book titled The Media‚Äôs Role in Defining the Nation.

Congratulations, David, on receiving the highest honor from the American Journalism Historians Association — and in the prime of your career!


The 2010 National Diversity Award

October 2, 2010

Accepting the award from AEJMC president Jan Slater

A tremendous honor has come to the School of Communications at Elon University.

The school is the recipient of the 2010 national Equity & Diversity Award in recognition of our commitment and success in advancing gender equity and racial diversity in our school.

Elon is only the second recipient of the award presented by the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication. The Manship School of Mass Communication at LSU was the inaugural recipient in 2009.

We decided to have the presentation at our Advisory Board luncheon in front of faculty, staff, students and professional guests. AEJMC President Jan Slater, interim dean of the College of Media at the University of Illinois, presented the award to me, since I had taken the lead in marshaling our application.

Specifically, AEJMC praised the School of Communications for building a diverse faculty that is more than 20 percent minority, for being committed to salary equity by gender, for participating in national diversity programs, for securing $200,000 from the Hearst Foundation to endow minority student scholarships, for initiating a faculty exchange with historically black North Carolina A&T, and for faculty scholarship in the realm of diversity.

This award truly is a testament to the hard work of the faculty and staff of the School of Communications who have made gender equity and racial diversity key components in building an excellent school.